What do the Governors do?

School governors have three key roles:

  • They are responsible for ensuring the school has a clear vision, clearly understood values and for its strategic direction.
  • They are responsible for holding the Headteacher to account, for the educational performance of the school.
  • They are responsible for ensuring the school’s money is spent efficiently and for the benefit of students.

In addition, to understand the culture of the school and to ensure its values are demonstrated every day, governors will be involved in attending school events, such as music concerts, sports fixtures, presentation evenings to name a few.

Every governor is a member of the governing body, which is established in law as a corporate body. Governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing body.  Click on a governor’s photo or name to find out more about each governor.


Full details of the governors and the committees of the Board can be found in the Governance Statement.

Bishop Vesey’s Grammar School Governance Statement

We welcome conversations with potential new governors. Should you be interested in the role please contact Ruth Houghton, Clerk to the Governors in the first instance, who can be reached on r.houghton@bishopveseys.bham.sch.uk to arrange an informal conversation with our Chair Joanna Davis.


Joanna Davis 


Vesey Community Governor

Dominic Robson 


Ravinder Bhandal

Co-Opted by the Governing Board

Rebecca Williams

Parent Governor

Richard Baizley

Parent Governor

Andrea Wesson 

Vesey Community Governor

Andrew O’Brien

Deputy Chair

Vesey Community Governor

Phil Arkinstall 

Vesey Community Governor

Ian Myatt 

Vesey Community Governor

Mahmoda Qureshi 

Vesey Community Governor

Paul Sherriff 

Vesey Community Governor

Rebekka Heitmar

Co-opted by the Governing Board

Mark Maybury

Appointed by Members of the Academy

Zahida Yasin

Associate Staff Governor


Mrs Joanna Davis

Mr Peter Dines
Mr William Potter
Mrs Julie Robson
Mr Stephan Wade