Phil was educated at BVGS from 1953 - 60 where he was a Prefect and Captain of Red House. He was captain of Cricket in 1959 and 1960 having played in the 1st XI for three years and in the 1st XV for a similar period. Phil gained County and West Midlands honours in both sports.
He qualified as a teacher after leaving school and taught history and PE for five years before developing a sales and marketing career up to Director level within national companies before setting up his own executive recruitment company.
Outside work, Phil became captain of the Old Veseyan 1st XV for three successful seasons and thereafter, Chairman and Life member of the Old Veseyan Rugby Club. In 1972-73 he developed and set up the Veseyan Sports and Social Club which encompassed the Rugby Club and nine other sports and activities and grew the membership to just under 400 needed for sustainability and enable rebuilding of the clubhouse thus providing suitable facilities for the use of Old Veseyans, their families and friends.
In 1983 and 1993, Phil Chaired further extensions and developments of the clubhouse, the latter after the club had sustained serious fire damage. The recent developments of the club's facilities, that are present today, received a significant contribution from Phil's previous experience.
Phil was Chairman of the Old Veseyan Association and a Governor of the school from 1987-93. He was responsible as a Governor for sport and led the initial development of the Sports Hall and Hard Surface playing area now established on Middle Field.
Latterly, as Foundation and Alumni Manager, attached to the school, Phil has widened all contacts with the Vesey Community from Students to "Shaggy Dogs" whilst maintaining active interests and involvement in the School, the O V A and Veseyan Rugby Club in his capacity as a Director of the Old Veseyan Sports Club Limited.
Phil's interests include Bowls, History (through U3A), and his four grand children.