Pastoral Care

At Bishop Vesey’s Grammar School we are committed to providing outstanding pastoral care.

Key Staff:
Ruth Hearn – Deputy Headteacher

r.hearn@bishopveseys.bham.sch.uk

Bev Gilbert – Assistant Headteacher i/c Behaviour and Attendance
b.gilbert@bishopveseys.bham.sch.uk

Kate Steadman – Designated Safeguarding Lead
k.steadman@bishopveseys.bham.sch.uk

Heather Hodkinson – Learning Mentor for KS4, i/c of PHSE & Citizenship
h.hodkinson@bishopveseys.bham.sch.uk

Pam Maskell – Post 16 Student Support Manager 
p.maskell@bishopveseys.bham.sch.uk

Sally Arrandale – KS3 Learning Mentor
s.arrandale@bishopveseys.bham.sch.uk

Matt Randle – SENCo
m.randle@bishopveseys.bham.sch.uk

 

Key Ofsted Excerpts:

The behaviour of students is outstanding. Students show a great thirst for learning and are keen to make the most of the academic and other opportunities offered across the school.

Students make a very strong contribution to the culture of the school. They enjoy and value the range of opportunities to develop leadership skills through involvement in staff recruitment and leadership of a range of events and clubs in the school. Older students mentor younger students and lead whole-school initiatives such as the ‘Time for Change’ campaign, to tackle discrimination and the stigma of mental illness. All of these activities and opportunities make a strong contribution to the spiritual, moral, social and cultural development of the students.

The school’s work to keep students safe and secure is outstanding. Students feel very safe and say that they value the security of the school site.

There is a very well-planned programme, through personal, social, health education and citizenship lessons, to support students in understanding and managing risk. This includes risks related to e-safety, carrying of knives, and well-being issues such as eating disorders and self-harm.

Additional Information:

If students wish for further information on issues such as Mental Health, Domestic Violence, Bereavement and Sex and Relationships but are nervous about talking to someone then there are leaflets/information posters around the school signposting students to different organisations/charities/agencies and outside Miss Steadman’s/Miss Gilbert’s office.